Emancipation of a Minor Research Guide

Overview

This research guide contains information and resources for emancipation, or removal of the disabilities of a minor, in the state of Texas. In 2017, SB1705 passed, amending §2.003 of the Texas Family Code and removing the option for parental consent. The resources listed below are not exhaustive and may not include the most up-to-date information. It is for information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice or act as the substitute for legal counsel.

Statutes & Codes

Texas Statutes Online www.statutes.capitol.texas.gov/

Texas Family Code

- Ch. 2 The Marriage Relationship §2.003
 Application for License by Minor
 https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/htm/FA.2.htm#2.003
- Ch. 31 Removal of Disabilities of Minority https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/ht m/FA.31.htm

Secondary Resources in Print

Vernon's Texas Codes Annotated KFT 1230.5

 Family Vol. 2, Ch. 31Removal of Disabilities of Minority

Texas Family Law Practice and Procedure REF KFT 1294 .F35

 Vol. 4, Task U3, Removing Disabilities of Minor

Texas Family Law Practice Manual REF KFT 1294 .T4S7

• Vol. 3, Ch. 61 Miscellaneous Litigation, § 61.7 Removal of Disabilities of Minority

O'Connor's Texas Family Law Handbook REF KFT 1294 .A291 026

- 1-A § 2.2.1(1)(b) Requirements for ceremonial marriage -- minors
- 1-B § 5.2.2 Petitioning for removal of disabilities

O'Connor's Texas Family Law Forms REF KFT 1294 .A65 W55

- Form 1E:1 Petition (Emancipation)
- Form 1E:2 Answer
- Form 1E:3 Order

O'Connor's Texas Family Code Plus REF KFT 1294 .03B4

• Ch. 31 Removal of Disabilities of Minority

Sampson, Tindall & England's Texas Family Code Annotated REF KFT 1294 .A3

• Ch. 31 Removal of Disabilities of Minority, pp. 171-173.

West's Texas Statutes and Codes: Texas Family Code KFT 1294 .A29

• Ch. 31 Removal of Disabilities of Minority

CLE Materials

Advanced Family Law Course KFT 1294 .S83

- 2020 Vol. 2, Ch. 39 Born to Be Wild: Teenager Issues and Difficult Coparenting Decisions
- 2019 Vol. 2, Ch. 49 Legislative Update 2019: Child Welfare
- 2017 Vol. 1, Ch. 6 Legislative Update
 - §2.003(a)(b) Application for License by Minor-AMENDED/ADDED

Online Resources

Emancipation Forms (Tarrant County Law Library Forms Page)

https://www.tarrantcounty.com/en/law-library/forms.html

Emancipation of Minors (Texas Law Help) https://texaslawhelp.org/article/emancipation-minors

Minors and Marriage (Texas Law Help)
https://texaslawhelp.org/article/minors-and-marriage

Emancipation FAQ (TSLL) https://faq.sll.texas.gov/questions/40940

Teenager Emancipation in Texas https://www.hg.org/legal-articles/teenager-emancipation-in-texas-51013

Emancipation of Minors (NOLO) https://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/emancipation-of-minors-32237.html

85(R) SB 1705 (enrolled) Texas Legislature Online https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/85R/billtext/html/SB01705F.htm

"Can a 17-year-old leave home?" (TSLL) https://guides.sll.texas.gov/can-a-seventeen-year-old-leave-home

Runaway Laws in Texas (Texas Youth Helpline) https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/youth-helpline/youth-resources/runaway-laws-emancipation-in-texas.asp

Legal Assistance

Legal Lines - Ask Attorneys simple legal questions (free service)

- Tarrant County LegalLine Sign-up https://www.tarrantbar.org/
- Dallas County LegalLine Sign-up
 https://www.dallasbar.org/index.cfm?pg
 =legalline

Tarrant County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service: 817-336-4101 (\$20 for the first 30 minutes)