Possession Orders Research Guide

Overview

This research guide includes information and resources for child possession orders in Texas. The standard possession schedule includes the first, third, and fifth weekend for visitation of the noncustodial parent, but for people who needs alternatives, there are other types, such as modified, supervised, and possession orders when the child is under 3 years of age. The resources listed below are not exhaustive and may not include the most up-to-date information. It is for information purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice or act as the substitute for legal counsel.

Related guides: Child Custody, Grandparents and Other Nonparents, Passports for Children

Statutes & Codes

Texas Statutes Online <u>www.statutes.capitol.texas.gov/</u>

Texas Family Code

Ch. 153 Conservatorship, Possession, and Access

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/FA/ht m/FA.153.htm

Secondary Resources in Print

Texas Family Law Practice and Procedure REF KFT 1294 .F35

- Vol. 1, Task B2 Determining Custody of Children §B2.05 Defining Periods of Possession
- Vol. 2, Task E2 Settling the Case; Agreements Incident to Divorce § E2.12[6] Times and Conditions of Possession and Access

• Vol. 2, Task F1 Preparing the Final Decree §F1.10 Providing for Possessory Conservatorship (Visitation) of Children

Texas Family Law Practice Manual REF KFT 1294 .T4S7

- Vol. 3, Ch. 44 Grandparent and Other Nonparents
- Vol. 3, Ch. 45 Military Duty of Conservator
- Vol. 3, Ch. 56 Miscellaneous SAPCR and Other Child-Related Forms

O'Connor's Texas Family Law Handbook REF KFT 1294 .A291 026

• Forms 6E:5 to Form 6E:10 Possession Orders

O'Connor's Texas Family Law Forms REF KFT 1294 .A65 W55

• Forms 6E:5 to 6E:10 Possession Orders

O'Connor's Texas Family Code Plus REF KFT 1294 .03B4

- Standard Possession Order FAM § 153.3101-153.317, pp. 521-526
- 50 miles or less FAM § 153.3171
- Less than 100 miles FAM § 153.312
- Over 100 miles FAM § 153.313
- Deviating from FAM § 153.007, 153.072, 153.193, 153.253-153.258, 153.317

Sampson, Tindall & England's Texas Family Code Annotated REF KFT 1294. A3

• Possession and Access to Child § 153.251 et seq

CLE Materials

Advanced Family Law Course KFT 1294. S83

- 2021 Vol. 1, Ch. 3 Legislative Update 2021: Family Law
- 2021 Vol. 1, Ch. 6 Child Support: Beyond the Basics

- 2021 Vol. 1, Ch. 11 Understanding the Amicus Statute and Making it Work for Your Case
- 2021 Vol. 1, Ch. 12 Standing
- 2021 Vol. 1, Ch. 13 Protective Orders
- 2021 Vol. 1, Ch. 14 Jurisdictional Challenges and Responses in Divorce and SAPCR Cases
- 2021 Vol. 2, Ch. 34-43 SAPCR Track
- 2020 Vol. 2, Ch. 38 Controlling the Controlling Parent
- 2020 Vol. 2, Ch. 40 Effective Advocacy in Relocation Cases
- 2020 Vol. 2, Ch. 45 The Family First Act
- 2019 Vol. 2, Ch. 24 Creative Possession Schedules
- 2015 Vol. 2, Ch. 27 Unique Possession Schedules
- 2014 Vol. 2, Ch. 35 Unusual Possession Orders
- 2012 Vol. 1, Ch. 15 Creative Possession Schedules
- 2011 Vol. 2, Ch. 25 Possession and Access for Children under 3

Advanced Family Drafting KFT 1294 .A92

- 2019 Ch. 3 Bespoke Custody Schedules
- 2013 Vol. 1, Ch. 17 Unusual Possession Schedules
- 1999 Ch. P: Possession and Access Provisions You Won't Find in the Form Book
- 1995 Ch. J: Drafting for Unique Visitation
- 1992 Ch. H: Kiddie Clauses Special Visitation Problems

Marriage Dissolution 101 KFT 1300 .M3732

• 2018 Ch. 7 Non-Parent Standing

Online Resources

Standard Possession Order and Parenting Time (TX Access)

https://txaccess.org/standard-possession-order-and-parenting-time

Child Custody and Support Guide (TSLL) https://guides.sll.texas.gov/child-custody-andsupport/child-custody Texas Law Help (<u>www.texaslawhelp.org</u>)

- Child Visitation and Possession Orders <u>https://texaslawhelp.org/article/child-visitation-possession-orders</u>
- Extracurriculars, School Activities, and Summer Camps <u>https://texaslawhelp.org/article/extracurricu</u> <u>lars-school-activities-and-summer-camps</u>
- Electronic Communication with Your Child <u>https://texaslawhelp.org/article/electronic-</u> <u>communication-with-your-child</u>
- Parents' Rights to Participate in Their Children's Education <u>https://texaslawhelp.org/article/parents-</u> <u>rights-to-participate-in-their-childrens-</u> <u>education</u>
- Travel During Periods of Visitation <u>https://texaslawhelp.org/article/travel-</u> <u>during-periods-of-visitation</u>

Texas Attorney General Parenting Schedule <u>https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/child-</u> <u>support/families-and-parenting/parenting-time-</u> <u>overview/parenting-time-schedule/50-miles-apart-</u> <u>or-less</u>

Legal Assistance

Legal Lines – Ask Attorneys simple legal questions (free service)

- Tarrant County LegalLine Sign-up <u>https://www.tarrantbar.org/</u>
- Dallas County LegalLine Sign-up <u>https://www.dallasbar.org/index.cfm?pg</u> <u>=legalline</u>

Tarrant County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service: 817-336-4101 (\$20 for the first 30 minutes)