

Tarrant County Medical Examiner's District

serving

Tarrant, Denton, Johnson & Parker counties

MEDICAL EXAMINER
OFFICES

Tarrant County

817-920-5700 ext. 5 (answered 24-hrs a day)

Denton County

940-349-2870 office 940-349-1600 after hrs

Johnson County

817-558-2245 office 817-556-6060 after hrs

Parker County 817-594-8845 PCSO

<u>OTHER</u>

Tarrant County Unclaimed Bodies or Pauper Service

All Tarrant County services are handled by UNTHSC at 817-304-3763 or 817-735-2043

WILLED BODY PROGRAMS

University of North Texas HSC 817-735-2047

UT Southwestern Medical Center 214-648-2221

Reportable Deaths to the Medical Examiner's office Code of Criminal Procedure 49.25

State law requires that the following deaths "shall immediately" be reported to the medical examiner's office.

- 1. When a person dies within 24-hours of admission to the facility. Times starts at triage
- When any person is killed or dies a non-natural death no matter how long they have been hospitalized. (suspected Accidents / Homicides / Suicides)
- 3. When a body is found & the cause and circumstances of the death are unknown.
- 4. Any suicide, regardless of the length of time hospitalized.
- 5. When the patient dies without being attended by a physician & the cause is unknown.
- 6. Any child death under six years of age regardless of how long they have been hospitalized.
 - a- Fetal deaths must be reported if over 20 weeks gestation or weigh over 350 grams.

 Fetal deaths under 20 weeks and weighing less than 350 grams are not reportable.

 (TX Admin Code, Title 25, Part 1, Ch 181, Sub Ch A, Rule 181.7; TX HSC 192.0022)

Preparing to Report the Death to the Medical Examiner

- 1. Have the patient chart in front of you. Face sheet or patient demographics first.
- 2. Know the decedent's terminal diagnosis, medical history, & reason for admission.
- 3. Have Next of Kin or Emergency Contact information available.
- 4. Be ready with details such as where the patient came from & how the incident occurred.
- 5. The Medical Examiner's office does not store, embalm, or cremate bodies. We are a science facility that performs forensic examinations. There is no county or city morgue.
- The Medical Examiner's office does not perform medical autopsies or exams upon request.
 Private exams are organized & paid for by the families or facilities through private contractors, not this government agency.
- 7. It is a Class B Misdemeanor (up to 180 days in jail & up to \$2,000.00 fine) to interfere with an Inquest authorized by Texas law.