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CAUSE NO. ___________________ 
  

GUIDE FOR AN INDEPENDENT EXECUTOR  
IN TARRANT COUNTY PROBATE COURT TWO  

  
________________________________ 

JUDGE BROOKE ALLEN 
Probate Court Two, Tarrant County, Texas 
100 West Weatherford Street, Room 160A 

Fort Worth, Texas 76196 
817.-884-1415 

Associate Judge Brook Bell 
100 West Weatherford Street, Room 220A 

Fort Worth, Texas 76196 
817-884-2794 

Steve Fields, Court Administrator  
sdfields@tarrantcountytx.gov 

817.884.1049 
  
  

WARNINGS  
As independent executor, you have a fiduciary duty to treat all beneficiaries 
and creditors fairly.  By law, throughout the entire process, you must be 
represented by an attorney who is licensed to practice law in Texas.  You 
should consult your attorney before taking any action as independent 
executor.  Your attorney MUST prepare and sign anything that is filed with 
the Court.  This guide does not replace the advice of your attorney.  Finally, 
please note that failure to file an inventory within 90 days of the day you 
qualify as executor will result in a fine of UP TO $1,000.00. (see p. 4)  
  
BASICS  
As independent executor, you must:  

• gather or collect the assets of the estate;  
• notify the beneficiaries of the estate;  
• notify the creditors of the decedent;  
• file an inventory with the Court;  
• file an affidavit or certificate that beneficiaries have been notified;  
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• pay the debts of the decedent;  
• pay your attorney’s fees and other administrative expenses; and   

distribute the remaining assets to the beneficiaries.  
  
QUALIFYING TO SERVE   
Within 20 days of the date the Court signs an Order Admitting the Will to 
Probate and Appointing Independent Executor (305.003), you must:  

• file an Oath signed and sworn to in Court or before a notary;  
• file a Bond unless the appointing Order waives Bond;  
• file an Appointment of Resident Agent if you do not reside in TEXAS.  

The Court’s approval of the last of the required documents establishes your 
“Qualification Date”, from which the time on your duties starts to run.  
  
LETTERS TESTAMENTARY  
On or after your Qualification Date, you are entitled to obtain Letters 
Testamentary (306.001) from the Probate Clerk by calling 817-884-2840 or 
visiting the clerk’s office between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. in Room 233 
on the west end of the 2nd Floor of the Historic County Courthouse at 100 
West Weatherford in Fort Worth.  Contact the clerk for the fee for these letters.  
Letters Testamentary establish your authority to serve as independent executor 
of the estate.  Banks, brokers, real estate agents, etc., will often ask you for an 
original of your Letters Testamentary that has been certified within the past 
60 days.  Some third parties will also want a certified copy of the Will.  Letters 
Testamentary and certified copies of Wills can be obtained from the clerk for 
a fee.  
  
NOTIFYING CREDITORS  

• General Published Notice.  Within one month of your Qualification 
Date you must publish a notice to creditors in a newspaper in the county 
(Commercial Recorder at 817.926.5351).  
  

• The notice is to include your Qualification Date, the address to which 
claims should be presented, and an instruction that claims either be 
addressed: (a) in care of the executor; (b) in care of the attorney; or (c) 
in care of the “representative, estate of _____.” (308.051)  
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• Proof of Publication.  A copy of the printed notice, together with the 
affidavit of the publisher shall be filed with the Clerk (308.052).   
 

• Comptroller’s Notice.  If the decedent remitted or should have remitted 
taxes administered by the comptroller of public accounts, you should 
send notice as above to the comptroller by certified mail (308.051).  

  
• Notice to Secured Creditors.  Within 2 months of your  

Qualification Date, you must provide notice by certified mail, return 
receipt requested, to all creditors known to have a claim for money 
against the estate that is secured by real or personal property of the 
estate.  The contents of this notice are the same as mentioned above and 
proof of the service of this notice should also be filed with the Clerk 
(308.053).  
  

• Permissive Notice to Unsecured Creditors.  At any time before the 
estate is closed, you may provide notice by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to an unsecured creditor having a claim for money against 
the estate expressly stating that the creditor must present a claim within 
4 months after the date of the receipt of the notice or the claim is barred.  
The notice must include the items listed General Published Notice 
mentioned above (308.054).  

  
• Penalty for Failure to Notify Creditors.  If you fail to provide the notices 

required above, other than the permissive notice, you and the sureties 
on your bond, are personally liable for any damage which any person 
suffers by reason of such neglect, unless it appears that such person had 
notice otherwise (308.056).  

  
 NOTICE TO BENEFICIARIES    
Within 60 days of the date of the order admitting the will to probate, you, with 
the assistance of your attorney, must notify by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, all persons and entities named as beneficiaries in the Will.  The 
notice must state the name and address of the beneficiary; the decedent’s 
name; that the decedent’s will has been admitted to probate; that the 
beneficiary to whom or for whom the notice is provided is named as a 
beneficiary in the will; and the independent executor’s name and contact 
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information.  A copy of the Will and the Order admitting the Will to Probate 
must be attached to this notice (308.003).   
 In the alternative, each beneficiary may sign a waiver of this notice which 
should be filed with the clerk.     
  
AFFIDAVIT OR CERTIFICATE OF NOTICE  
Within 90 days of the date of the order admitting the will to probate, the 
independent executor must sign and file a sworn affidavit or a certificate 
signed by the attorney for the independent executor that states the name and 
address of each beneficiary notified of the probate by certified mail; the name 
and address of each beneficiary who filed a waiver of the notice; the name of 
each beneficiary whose identity or address could not be ascertained despite 
the independent executor’s exercise of reasonable diligence; and any other 
information necessary to explain the independent executor’s inability to 
provide the notice to or for any beneficiary.  The affidavit or certificate may 
be included as part of the inventory, appraisement and list or claims, or 
included as part of an application for extension of time to file the inventory, 
appraisement and list of claims.     
  
INVENTORY*  
Within 90 days of your Qualification Date, you, with the assistance of your 
attorney, must file with the Court a sworn inventory, appraisement and list of 
claims (“Inventory”) of the estate.  Failure to file your Inventory timely could 
result in your removal as independent executor and a fine of up to $1,000.00 
(309.057c).  Please ask your attorney to request an extension if you are unable 
to file your Inventory on time.  Do not depend on the court’s Show Cause 
Order as a reminder to file your Inventory.  Your Inventory must be prepared 
by and signed by your attorney, and must:  

• List all personal property of the estate wherever it is located with cash 
and investment account descriptions including the name and address of 
the bank or brokerage firm and at least the last four numbers of each 
account;  

• List all real property that is located in Texas;  
• List all property owned in common with others, including the fraction 

of the interest owned by the estate;  
• Specify what portion of the property, if any, is separate property and 

what portion of the property, if any, is community property;  
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• List the fair market value of each item of property as of the decedent’s 
date of death; and  

• List all claims that the estate has against other parties including the 
name and address of the debtor; the nature of the claim; the initial date 
and the due date of the claim; the amount of the claim and its rate of 
interest; and whether the claim is separate or community;   

 Do not list the debts of the estate on your Inventory;  
 If your Inventory is not approved, file an amended inventory (309.054).  

*Affidavit in Lieu of Inventory – If there are no unpaid debts, except for 
secured debts, taxes and administration expenses, at the time the Inventory is 
due, including extensions, an independent executor may file, in lieu of the 
Inventory, within 90 days of the Qualification Date, unless extended, an 
affidavit stating that all debts, except for secured debts, taxes, and 
administration expenses, are paid and that all beneficiaries have received a 
verified, full and detailed inventory (309.056).    
  
COLLECTING ASSETS  
An independent executor shall:  

• take care of the estate property as a prudent person would take of his or 
her own property and shall keep real property in good repair (351.101);  

• collect all personal property, record books, title papers, and other 
business papers of the estate (351.102);  

• keep estate funds in a separate designated account and not mix estate 
funds with the executor’s private funds;  

• use ordinary diligence to collect all claims and debts due the estate and 
to recover possession of all property of the estate provided there is a 
reasonable prospect of collecting such claims or recovering such 
property (351.151);  

• Seek court approval prior to entering into a contingency fee contract 
with an attorney that exceeds 33% of the property to be recovered (351.152).   
  
SELLING ASSETS  
Your power to sell assets of the estate should be addressed in the Will.  You 
should not sell any estate assets without first consulting your attorney.  If the 
Will does not specifically permit you power to sell estate real property and 
such sale becomes necessary, your attorney must apply to sell real property 
under Court order (356.251).  This is a multi-step procedure that requires 
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posted notice for specified periods of time thus allowing beneficiaries the 
right to object to such sale.  Therefore, you should not enter into any contracts 
to sell real property without consulting your attorney and obtaining court 
permission if necessary.  
  
CLAIMS  
Please consult your attorney when you receive a claim or a claim is filed with 
the Clerk by a creditor.  Here are some general rules about claims:  
  

• Presentment.  Claims of creditors against the estate may be presented 
to you at any time before the estate is closed if the claim is not barred 
by the permissive notice mentioned above or by the general statute of 
limitations.  Claims may be secured or unsecured by estate assets.  

  
• Action on Claims.  Once you receive a claim or if a claim is filed with 

the Clerk, you should immediately contact your attorney because 
certain deadlines may apply for dealing with the claim.  Under certain 
circumstances, if a creditor files suit on a just claim that has been 
rejected, the court may find you personally liable for the cost of the suit, 
and you may be removed as executor for failure to have properly acted 
on the claim.  

  
• Barred Claims.  Claims that are barred by the general statute of 

limitations should be rejected.  Claims of creditors to whom you sent 
the permissive notice described above are barred if they are not 
presented or filed within four months from the date the creditor received 
the notice.  These late claims should also be rejected.   

  
• Payment of Claims.  If the estate is insolvent, claims should not be paid 

until the estate has been open at least six months because claims have a 
certain priority of payment.  You should consult your attorney prior to 
paying any claims.   
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TAXES  
You must consult with your attorney as to whether you must file any income 
tax, state inheritance tax, or federal estate tax returns.  You may need to file 
income tax returns for both the decedent and the estate.     
Upon application from your attorney, the court will normally grant an 
extension of the Inventory filing date until the date the Federal Estate Tax is 
due.  All necessary tax returns must be filed prior to closing the estate.  You 
are also responsible for paying, out of estate funds, all real property taxes due 
on estate property.    

  
COMPENSATION  
As independent executor, your compensation is dictated by the provisions of 
the decedent’s will.  If the decedent’s will is silent on this issue, the law 
provides that you are entitled to five percent (5%) of the receipts and 
disbursements, with exceptions (352.002).  Please consult your attorney as to 
the amount of compensation you are entitled.  The court does not approve the 
compensation of an independent executor unless it is contested by a 
beneficiary or creditor.  
  
CLOSING THE ESTATE  
The estate should generally remain open at least six months from your 
Qualification Date.  Once you have collected the assets of the estate, notified 
any creditors of the estate, filed the Inventory or Affidavit in Lieu of 
Inventory, and paid all legitimate claims, you should consult your attorney 
about distributing the remaining assets to the beneficiaries as directed in the 
Will.  Your attorney may want to prepare receipts to be signed by the 
beneficiaries stating that they have received their share of property from the 
estate.  These receipts may then be filed with the Clerk and attached to a 
Closing Report or a Notice of Closing of the Estate (405.004).  If you were 
required to file a Bond, the Closing Report (but not a Notice of Closing of the 
Estate) will operate to release the sureties on your Bond, and a certified copy 
should be sent to your bonding company.  Once the Closing Report or Notice 
of Closing Estate is filed, persons having claims against the estate must deal 
directly with the beneficiaries.  Many independent executors choose not to 
close the estate, in the event more estate assets are located in the future.  
However, some independent executors choose to file a Closing Report or 
Notice of Closing Estate to begin the running of the general statute of 
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limitations.  Please consult your attorney as to what document, if any, should 
be filed in your case.    
   
ATTORNEY ISSUES  
As independent executor, you are free to hire the attorney of your choice.   
Your attorney represents you as independent executor and does not represent 
the “estate.”  However, you have a fiduciary duty to treat all legitimate 
creditors and estate beneficiaries fairly, and your attorney should remind you 
of that duty.  The court does not review or approve attorney’s fees in an 
independent administration.  The court cannot resolve complaints that you 
may have against your attorney.  For those purposes, you may contact the 
State Bar of Texas at 1.800.932.1900.    
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