Awards and Recognition

StatesCoop 2022 LocalSmart Awards Logo

Chris Nchopa-Ayafor, CIO, Tarrant County, received the 2022 LocalSmart Award in the category of GoldenGov: County Executive of the Year.  This program highlights the people and projects making city, county, and municipal government better.

“As we close out 2022, StateScoop is honored to recognize these dynamic leaders in city, county and municipal government,” said Jake Williams, the vice president of content and community for StateScoop and EdScoop.  The LocalSmart Awards launched in 2019 and have recognized more than 150 people and projects since their inception.  

This year’s awards recognize leaders from 15 different states and numerous cities and counties. The LocalSmart Awards program honors the visionaries who transform local government to make a difference in citizens' lives. These awards celebrate the achievements of those who work to make a lasting impact in the government IT community.










Dallas CIO Of The Year ORBIE Awards 

Chris Nchopa-Ayafor,  CIO, Tarrant County, received the Dallas CIO of the Year Award in the category Nonprofit/ Public Sector ORBIE, for government, education and not-for-profit organizations.  The CIO of the Year® ORBIE® Awards is the premier technology executive recognition program in the United States.  Since inception in 1998, over 650 CIOs have been honored as finalists and over 170 CIO of the Year winners have received the prestigious ORBIE Award.  The ORBIE honors chief information officers who have demonstrated excellence in technology leadership.  Finalists and winners are selected by an independent peer review process, led by prior ORBIE recipients, based upon:

  • Leadership and management effectiveness
  • Business value created by technology innovation
  • The size and scope of responsibilities
  • Engagement in industry and community endeavors








2017 Government Experience Award Logo

The Center for Digital Government (CDG) presentsTarrant County with the 2017 Government Experience Project Award in the County Government-to-Citizen Experience category for the Public Health Be Mosquito Free initiative.