10 Essentials of Public Health

In 1999, Texas became the first state to codify into law 10 essential public health services to provide a working definition for local public health systems. This listing was originally created by a U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention steering committee, working with representatives of U.S. Public Health Service agencies and other major national public health organizations. Tarrant County Public Health adopted these 10 essential public health services as departmental goals and conducts many activities that address these services:

  1. Monitor the health status of the community.
  2. Investigate and diagnose health problems and hazards.
  3. Inform and educate people regarding health issues.
  4. Mobilize partnerships to solve community problems.
  5. Support policies and plans to achieve health goals.
  6. Enforce laws and regulations to protect health and safety.
  7. Link people to needed personal health services.
  8. Ensure a skilled, competent public health workforce.
  9. Evaluate effectiveness, accessibility and quality of health services.
  10. Research and apply innovative solutions.