Texas Counties Deliver

What's a County?

Counties have been around since before Texas became a state, and even before it was a republic. Under Spanish rule, the land was divided into municipios. When the Republic of Texas formed in 1836, those municipios became the first 23 counties. By the time Texas joined the United States in 1845, the new state comprised 37 counties.

Fast forward to today — 254 counties make up the Lone Star State. In each county, a team of locally elected and appointed county officials serves its community.

Counties deliver essential services to Texans. They're the functional arm of state government and respond to local needs.


For more information about how Texas Counties Deliver, click here


Texas Counties Deliver. Learn how county government serves you