Small Claims Cases
Small Claims Cases
A small claims case is a lawsuit brought for the recovery of money damages, civil penalties, personal property, or other relief allowed by law. The claim can be for no more than $20,000, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any. Small claims cases are governed by Rules 500-507 of Part V of the Rules of Civil Procedure.
To search the Justice Court Precinct, please visit Tarrant County Comprehensive Address Information Directory.
For information on Justice Court Rules, please visit Texas Judicial Branch Rules and Forms website.
- To provide proof of Military status, please visit Single Record Request to verify Active Duty Status.
1. File with Justice Court 7 and defendant to be served in Tarrant County
- $54 filing fee
- $75 Constable fee for each person being served
- The court will produce the first set of copies at no charge, but any additional copies for additional defendants required to be served with citations, will be an additional charge. The fees are $1 for the first page and .25 cents for every page thereafter. Court reserves the right to correct payment if under or over paid via E-File.
2. File with Justice Court 7 and to be served outside Tarrant County
- The Court will email you the citation for service from firstname.lastname@example.org. You will need to contact Constable/Sheriff Department or a Private Process Service to get this citation served per Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 501.2 Service; OR
- The plaintiff is responsible to provide the court with the following information: name, address, phone number and separate payment for the service fee for the out of county Constable, Sheriff or other agency that will be serving the citation. This is to be submitted in office.
A case number will be provided when case is processed.