Luis Aguilar Collection

14 Fort Worth Law Men

Image shown (above): Photograph of 14 Fort Worth Law Men, circa 1880-1882. Photograph was taken when John T. Brown was Mayor of Fort Worth (1880-1882) and when Sam Farmer was Fort Worth Marshal (1879-1883) for the first time.

Standing, left to right: W. T. Sands, Bill Neely, Ike Cantrell, Long Thomas, Bob Buchannan, Charley Scott, W. M. Rea, and Jake Riggle.

Seated, left to right: Charles Garrison, City Secretary Stuart Harrison, Marshall Sam Farmer, Mayor John T. Brown, _ Coleman and E. P. Maddox.

Identifications from identical photograph that belonged to Chris Farkas (1949-2003), owner of Mamma’s Pizza, great-grandson E. P. Maddox, per Footprints, August 1992: 136.

Summary: Donor gave four rare framed photographs that had belonged to his brother, Joseph J. "Joe" Aguilar, who lived in Fort Worth since 1968, and passed away in 2014. All photographs appear to be from the late 19th century. View Luis Aguilar image gallery of photographs.


  • City of Fort Worth Police Department, consisting of 28 individual images of officers with Captain Maddox in center, and names of each officer below each image, undated
  • 14 Fort Worth Law Men, circa 1880-1882
  • Studio Photograph of 16 men, circa 1870s
  • Unidentified man in tropical jungle apparel of the sort that was worn in the Philippines in the mid to late 19th century, undated

16 men

Image shown (above): Studio portrait of 16 men, circa 1870s

This page was last modified on May 19, 2020


County Telephone Operator 817-884-1111

Tarrant County provides the information contained in this web site as a public service. Every effort is made to ensure that information provided is correct. However, in any case where legal reliance on information contained in these pages is required, the official records of Tarrant County should be consulted. Tarrant County is not responsible for the content of, nor endorses any site which has a link from the Tarrant County web site.

100 E. Weatherford, Fort Worth, Texas 76196